Priority guideGear review8 min read

Under Armour Charged Maven Review: UK Trail Verdict

Source-checked Under Armour Charged Maven review covering its 306g men’s weight, fit, Charged Cushioning, trail grip, waterproofing and UK use.

At a glance

What to know

Topic
Gear review
Reading time
8 minutes
Last changed
Article length
1,860 words
Evidence
Manufacturer-spec research
Sources checked

Short verdict: the Under Armour Charged Maven is a straightforward trail-running shoe for runners who value a breathable upper, protective overlays and a conventional rubber outsole. Under Armour lists the men’s model at 10.8oz (about 306g) and the women’s at 9.2oz (about 261g), but publishes no heel-to-toe drop, stack height or lug depth. The standard Maven is not waterproof or water-resistant.

This is a researched review. Zone2 has no retained test log, test size, photographs or mileage record to verify the previous article’s claim of several months on UK trails. Unsupported fit, wet-rock grip, durability and price-comparison conclusions have been removed. The guide uses exact men’s and women’s Under Armour product records and labels practical inferences separately from manufacturer facts.

Zone2 verdict

Buy it for: ordinary trail runs on park paths, gravel, packed earth and dry woodland when the regular fit works and discounted old stock is meaningfully cheaper than a current model.

Think twice for: deep mud, prolonged wet weather, technical fell running, runners who need a published wide fit, and anyone who wants verified stack, drop, lug-depth or rock-plate data before buying.

Main trade-off: the Maven has a sensible combination of mesh, overlays, foam and full rubber, but Under Armour’s specification leaves important technical details unpublished. It can be assessed as a general trail shoe; it cannot honestly be presented as a proven wet-grip specialist or high-fell racing shoe.

Under Armour Charged Maven specifications

The two adult references below were checked on 17 July 2026. Under Armour does not state the sample size used for either listed weight. Gram figures are Zone2 conversions from ounces and are rounded to the nearest gram.

FeatureMen’s Charged MavenWomen’s Charged Maven
Style30261363026143
CategoryTrail-running shoeTrail-running shoe
Listed weight10.8oz / about 306g9.2oz / about 261g
Fit labelRegularRegular
UpperEngineered mesh with PU overlaysEngineered mesh with PU overlays
SocklinerDeluxe Comfort SystemDeluxe Comfort System
MidsoleCompression-moulded Charged CushioningCompression-moulded Charged Cushioning
OutsoleDurable rubber with omni-directional trail lugsDurable rubber with omni-directional trail lugs
Toe protectionOutsole wraps upward as a toe bumperOutsole wraps upward as a toe bumper
LacesStandard tieStandard tie
WaterproofNoNo
Drop / stack / lug depthNot published on the official recordNot published on the official record

Under Armour’s archived UK pages provide the full men’s Charged Maven specification and women’s Charged Maven specification. Both UK records show the model out of stock, so availability should be treated as old or outlet stock rather than a dependable current UK range.

What the Charged Cushioning midsole tells us

Under Armour says Charged Cushioning uses compression-moulded foam and markets it for responsiveness and durability. The product record does not provide foam hardness, stack dimensions, laboratory energy-return figures or an expected lifespan. “Charged” is a technology name, not evidence that the shoe returns a particular percentage of energy.

The previous review described the ride as firm, responsive and protective after trail testing, then compared it with HOKA and Nike foams. Without a retained pair or notes, Zone2 cannot substantiate those observations. Construction suggests a conventional, moderately substantial trail platform, but only a try-on can establish softness, flexibility and comfort for a specific runner.

Under Armour’s 10.8oz men’s figure converts to roughly 306g, not the old article’s unsupported “around 320g”. That is neither automatically heavy nor light: the reference size is unknown, and shoe weight needs to be compared in equivalent sizes. It is enough to show that the Maven is not an ultra-minimal racing flat.

Upper, fit and sizing

The engineered mesh upper is supported by polyurethane overlays in areas Under Armour identifies as high-abrasion zones. A Deluxe Comfort System sockliner is intended to conform to the foot, while standard laces control the hold. The outsole rises at the front to create a basic toe bumper.

Under Armour labels both versions regular fit. The old article’s “slightly wide toe box”, “snug midfoot” and true-to-size claims have no retained measurement or fit record. Under Armour’s current US product Q&A also says the men’s Maven is not offered in a wide option. Do not size up solely to manufacture width; extra length can allow the foot to slide on descents.

Try the shoe with your normal trail socks, then check:

  • thumb-width downhill toe clearance without heel lift;
  • no pressure from the overlays at the little-toe joint or instep;
  • secure midfoot hold without numbness or excessive lace tension;
  • stable footing on a ramp or step rather than only level shop flooring;
  • space for normal foot swelling if the shoe is intended for longer outings.

If the regular last feels narrow, compare a genuinely wide trail model in the Zone2 shoe finder. Going longer is not the same as obtaining more usable width.

Grip and suitable UK terrain

The official specification confirms a durable rubber outsole and omni-directional trail lugs. It does not name the rubber compound, publish lug depth or make a surface-specific wet-grip comparison. Zone2 therefore cannot support the old claim that the Maven is less sticky than Salomon Contagrip or Adidas Continental rubber.

TerrainEvidence-based assessmentLimitation
Gravel and park pathsClear match for a full-rubber general trail shoeComfort still depends on fit and preferred firmness
Packed earth and dry woodlandReasonable intended useNo retained Zone2 grip test
Mixed road-to-trailPossible because rubber coverage is continuousRoad smoothness and outsole wear were not tested
Light mudOmni-directional lugs may provide purchaseNo published lug depth or mud-shedding evidence
Wet rock and rootsUse cautionNo official wet-grip rating or independent Zone2 test
Deep mud or steep fell terrainNot the evidence-led first choiceNo deep-lug, fell or technical-mountain specification

No outsole prevents slips on algae, polished stone, wet timber, ice or loose ground. Adapt pace and route choice to the surface. For more specialised British terrain guidance, continue to the UK trail and fell running hub.

Protection and durability

The PU overlays, rubber toe bumper and full outsole provide visible protection beyond a bare road-shoe mesh. Under Armour does not list a rock plate, so the Maven should not be described as having one. The toe bumper can reduce direct contact with small debris but cannot prevent every bruise or stub.

The manufacturer calls the outsole durable and places overlays in abrasion-prone areas. That is product intent, not a mileage guarantee. The old claim that the upper and rubber were holding up after “significant mileage” has been removed because no mileage log or wear photographs survive.

Inspect the flex points, overlay bonds, heel lining, outsole lugs and midsole after use. Retire or reassign a pair when damage changes the fit, traction or underfoot feel; there is no credible universal replacement mileage for this model.

Is the Charged Maven waterproof?

No. Under Armour’s official men’s Q&A states that the standard Charged Maven is neither waterproof nor water-resistant. The engineered mesh is positioned as breathable. It may tolerate an incidental splash as any fabric shoe can, but that is not a membrane specification.

Under Armour sold a separate Charged Maven Trek Waterproof. That is a higher-cut men’s trail shoe with a waterproof lining, style 3026735 and a listed 15.8oz weight—about 448g. It should not be confused with the lower, lighter standard Maven.

DecisionStandard Charged MavenMaven Trek Waterproof
Upper heightLow trail-running shoeHigher ankle collar
Weather protectionNot waterproof or water-resistantWaterproof lining claimed by Under Armour
Men’s listed weight10.8oz / about 306g15.8oz / about 448g
Best reason to chooseLower weight and ventilationMore coverage for wet walking or trail use

A waterproof lining cannot stop water entering over the collar and usually trades some ventilation for protection. Choose from the route and weather, not from the shared Maven name.

Value and old-stock buying

The UK men’s and women’s product pages were out of stock when checked. Under Armour’s US men’s record showed a $90 regular price, but that is not a current UK price. The previous article’s claim that the Maven typically cost £20–£30 less than Salomon and ASICS alternatives was not dated or sourced and has been removed.

For discontinued stock, compare the final checkout price with a current shoe that can be tried and returned. Confirm the exact 3026136 or 3026143 style, inspect storage condition and check the returns policy before treating a large percentage discount as value. Old foam, adhesives and rubber can deteriorate even when the outsole looks unworn.

A low price is attractive when the regular fit works and the shoe is fresh. It is poor value when buying blind leaves you with an unsuitable size, no return route or a model whose missing technical data matters to you.

Who should buy it?

  • Good match: runners using ordinary dry or mixed park trails, gravel and woodland paths.
  • Good match: someone finding fresh, returnable old stock at a clear saving.
  • Possible match: road-to-trail use when the underfoot feel remains comfortable on short paved links.
  • Poor match: runners who need waterproofing, a wide option or a verified drop.
  • Poor match: regular deep mud, exposed fell terrain or technical racing where specific grip evidence matters.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Under Armour Charged Maven weigh?

Under Armour lists 10.8oz for the men’s style 3026136 and 9.2oz for the women’s 3026143. Those convert to about 306g and 261g. The listed sample sizes are not stated.

What is the Charged Maven heel-to-toe drop?

Under Armour does not publish drop or stack dimensions on the cited men’s or women’s product records. Zone2 will not substitute an unsourced retailer figure.

Is the Charged Maven waterproof?

No. Under Armour explicitly says the standard Maven is not waterproof or water-resistant. The higher, heavier Maven Trek Waterproof is a separate model.

Does it have a rock plate?

No rock plate is listed in the official construction. It has PU overlays, full rubber and a toe bumper, but those should not be renamed as a plate.

Does the Charged Maven run wide?

Under Armour labels it regular fit and says the men’s model is not offered in wide. Zone2 has no retained measurement supporting the old “slightly wide” claim, so try it rather than relying on that description.

Is it good for UK mud?

It has omni-directional trail lugs, but Under Armour publishes no lug depth and Zone2 has no verified mud test. It is a more defensible choice for ordinary mixed paths than deep bog or steep fell racing.

Final verdict

The Under Armour Charged Maven is a conventional general-purpose trail shoe with useful fundamentals: breathable engineered mesh, protective overlays, compression-moulded cushioning, a rubber toe bumper and omni-directional lugs. At roughly 306g in the unspecified men’s sample, it is also lighter than the old review claimed.

Its limits need equal prominence. The standard version is not waterproof, no wide fit is published, and official records omit drop, stack, lug depth, rock plate and wet-grip data. Buy fresh, returnable old stock when the regular last fits and the price is compelling; choose a more specifically documented model when the route is wet, muddy or technically demanding. For carrying water and mandatory kit on longer routes, use the source-checked trail-pack finder.

Sources and update status

Zone2 has no retained test log, test size, photographs or mileage record to verify the previous article's claim of several months on UK trails. This guide removes unsupported first-person fit, wet-rock grip, durability and price comparisons and uses exact men's, women's and waterproof-Trek product records from Under Armour.

Meaningful update: Replaced a 419-word unsupported wear test with a transparent researched guide; corrected the men's weight from about 320g to about 306g; added the women's 261g equivalent; clarified the missing drop, stack and lug-depth data; removed invented rubber comparisons and significant-mileage claims; and distinguished the non-waterproof Maven from the Maven Trek Waterproof.

Published 13 August 2024; last changed 18 July 2026. Send a correction.